FEZ-Berlin

Offers from the FEZ at a special location – for children, young people and families.

The FEZ is Europe’s largest non-profit children’s, youth and family centre. Covering more than 175,000 square meters of outdoor space and 13,000 square meters of indoor space, it presents a wide range of cultural offerings and open spaces that promise adventure, experience-oriented learning and fun. With its unique facilities and countless activities, it attracts around 800,000 visitors a year.
Even those who think they know the FEZ can discover it again and again. Under its roof, it combines the Astrid Lindgren Stage, the fascinating Orbital Space Centre, the multi-award-winning Alice Museum for Children, the Berlin Music Academy with recording studio and three concert halls, the fezino cinema and a swimming pool with a 50 m pool. In the outdoor area there are several playgrounds, the Eco Island with eco-garden and mini-rainforest as well as a bathing lake with sandy beach. With family events over 50 weekends, Berlin’s best holiday programme and educational opportunities for school classes, in which topics such as sustainability, technical understanding or domestic violence are addressed, the FEZ invites you to meet and exchange, play, experience and discover all year round.
With seven offers for children’s birthdays, the FEZ also ensures that these days are special for the birthday child and its guests. Companies, organisations and associations can use the excellent infrastructure of FEZ Berlin for congresses, receptions and other events.
Obviously, the many activities in the FEZ can make you hungry and thirsty. In the Rooftop Restaurant, the “canteen” of the FEZ, visitors can expect a daily changing lunch menu. The ground floor café Alfon’s Gastronomy and the Bistro on the 2nd floor serve delicious snacks, coffee and cake.

Veranstaltungen Events

The FEZ programme can be found on the homepage Homepage of the Children’s, Youth and Family Centre.

Historisches History

The roots of the FEZ go back to the GDR period. The swimming pool in FEZ Berlin was opened on 3 October 1979. It has been part of the concept of the house since its inception. It was constructed in three years on the site of the former forester´s house and for the next 10 years formed the focal point of the Pioneer Park that had existed in the Wuhlheide since 1950. Even then, it was above all a place for recreational activities, but also for political education.
After reunification, the Pioneer Palace was transferred to the hands of the Ministry of Youth and Education of the Federal Republic of Germany. After a temporary period of closure, which served for reorientation, the house was reopened in 1991 as FEZ Berlin. Since 1995, the Management has been in the hands of KJfz-L-gBmbH, a wholly owned subsidiary of the state of Berlin, consisting of FEZ Berlin and Berlin Music Academy.

FEZ-Berlin

Angebote, die „FEZ“ machen – für Kinder, Jugendliche und Familien – an einem besonderen Ort

Das FEZ ist Europas größtes gemeinnütziges Kinder‐, Jugend‐ und Familienzentrum. Auf über 175.000 qm Outdoor‐ und 13.000 qm Indoor‐Fläche bietet es vielfältige kulturelle Angebote und Freiräume, die Abenteuer, erlebnisorientiertes Lernen und Spaß versprechen. Mit seiner einzigartigen Ausstattung und unzähligen Aktivitäten zieht es jährlich rund 800.000 Besucher an.

Auch wer das FEZ zu kennen glaubt, kann es immer wieder und neu entdecken. Es vereint unter seinem Dach die Astrid‐Lindgren‐Bühne, das faszinierende Raumfahrtzentrum orbitall, das mehrfach international ausgezeichnete Alice‐Museum für Kinder, die Landesmusikakademie Berlin mit Tonstudio und drei Konzertsälen, das Kino fezino und eine Schwimmhalle mit einem 50 m‐Becken. Auf dem Außengelände gibt es mehrere Spielplätze, die Öko‐Insel mit Öko‐Garten und Mini‐ Regenwald sowie einen Badesee mit Sandstrand. Mit Familienevents an 50 Wochenenden, Berlins bestem Ferienprogramm und Bildungsangeboten für Schulklassen, in denen Themen wie Nachhaltigkeit, technisches Verständnis oder häusliche Gewalt thematisiert werden, lädt das FEZ das ganze Jahr über zu Begegnung und zum Austausch, zum Spielen, Erleben und Entdecken ein.

Mit sieben Angeboten für Kindergeburtstage sorgt das FEZ außerdem dafür, dass diese Tage für das Geburtstagskind und seine Gäste etwas Besonderes werden. Firmen, Organisationen und Verbände können die hervorragende Infrastruktur des FEZ‐Berlin für Kongresse, Empfänge und andere Events nutzen.

Dass die vielen Aktivitäten im FEZ hungrig und durstig machen können, ist klar. Im Dachrestaurant, der „Kantine“ des FEZ, erwartet Besucher/innen ein täglich wechselnder Mittagstisch. Im Parterre-Café Alfon’s Gastronomie sowie im Bistro auf der 2. Etage gibt es leckere Kleinigkeiten, Kaffee und Kuchen.

Veranstaltungen Events

Das FEZ‐Programm finden Sie auf der Homepage des Kinder‐, Jugend‐ und Familienzentrums.

Historisches History

Die Wurzeln des FEZ reichen weit in die DDR-Zeit zurück. Das Haus wurde am 3. Oktober 1979 als Pionierpalast eröffnet. Es entstand in dreijähriger Bauzeit an der Stelle des ehemaligen Forsthauses und bildete für die nächsten 10 Jahre den Mittelpunkt des seit 1950 in der Wuhlheide existierenden Pionierparks. Schon damals war es vor allem ein Ort zur Freizeitgestaltung, aber auch zur politischen Bildung.

Nach der Wende ging der Pionierpalast in die Obhut des Ministeriums für Jugend und Bildung der BRD über. Nach einer vorübergehenden Schließzeit, die der Neuorientierung diente, wurde das Haus 1991 als FEZ-Berlin neu eröffnet. Seit 1995 liegt die Leitung in den Händen der KJfz-L-gBmbH, einer hundertprozentigen Tochter des Landes Berlin, bestehend aus FEZ-Berlin und Landesmusikakademie Berlin.